top of page

Chapter 6: I Love Drawing Wings


Py's back!! Also did you know that sea otters hold hands while they sleep? I just thought that was adorable.

Hiya! We're just gonna jump in right away this time!


So as you may know from my previous blog post, I've started my collaborative semester recently involving two projects! As I'm done with working with EmberBlaze, I am now 100% in my Archangels project!


We've received a lot of positive feedback (by "we" I mean Rae, Yam and I) on Archangels so far, which is extremely motivating!! I'm personally SUPER excited to see these bad boys come into fruition. I'm only ONE (1) sketch away from being complete with my sketches!!


Of which I have ever so modestly dropped in right below:

I've organized them (or at least attempted to) put them in order according to the days of the week each person represents based off of their assigned archangel. However, upon uploading these to this blog post and trying to put them in said order, I realized I messed up the placements of the planets that serve as a visual reminder of what day of the week they're in. So I. Need to fix that.


To look at the symbolism for each person and their archangel, you can reference my previous blog post which I have, graciously, put a link to down here so you don't have to scroll back up to get that link. I'm here to help you :)


 

I am extremely pleasantly surprised with how things are looking currently!! I didn't expect these sketches to turn out so well!! I am a little concerned with how we're doing on time to work with the physical materials in order to transfer this project from the computer to a physical plane. Although, I do greatly enjoy working with my partners on this, so I feel like if I need to discuss anything with them on progress being made anywhere I can :D


We've realized that if this project doesn't quite make it to the large-scale that we wish, that the designs are already strong enough that even as prints with some lights, they would still be outstanding pieces! I do pride myself a good bit in this piece especially because these sketches, while only the beginning phase, are extremely prominent in the work itself due to the detail I put in them, so I'm happy to see these ideas translated fully once the pieces are complete!


While working on this piece, as well as my previous one as a matter of fact, I've incorporated the idea of a series of works in a single piece. I have initially seen this from tarot cards made by communities, series based on the zodiacs, seasons, planets, etc. These types of series' have made me enthralled by the idea of a series that's made up of connected works to match a motif or theme. Thanks to these, I think I've found a sweet spot for creating that allows me to push symbolism and concepts while balancing it with my simpler and cartoonish looking style in order to create pieces that are still received as mature.


 

!ARTIST HIGHLIGHT COMING SOON!

21 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page