top of page

Chapter 3: The Bees Knees

Updated: Mar 22, 2019


Howdy!! Happy holidays everyone!


I hope you're not looking for a super huge update!! Since my last post, since I planned so much beforehand, I've only cleaned up each of the pieces by adding clean sections of color and lines. I decided to do a mix of lineless and line...ful? Anyways, I think this mix has ultimately contributed to the style of my piece :D


So far, I'm doing great in terms of progress! I'm just about where I feel like I should be. Now I just need to add shading and add a backdrop to each of the pieces (my favorite part uwu). I altered the colors for the elephants, so now they're right! I think I'm going to make them a little bigger to fill up more space and take away a tad bit of negative space because I don't really like it. But otherwise, I feel like my message is coming across well! I'm really glad I chose a simple topic, and a positive one at that, because I need at least a few months of not being super depressed in high school!!

 

Update pictures of my animal families!

These are my pieces at the moment! (the foxes + bear isn't finished, but that's okay) I'm really satisfied with my progression of these! I was concerned that I wouldn't be able to manage to make clean and smooth lineless works by hand without a stabilizer, but hey I'm awesome I guess and managed to do it :D ! I also was able to make all of the animals readable, and the water overlay on the river animal group is way more successful now that it's cleaner. I still need to figure out exactly HOW I want to implement my shading, but I have enough time that I'm confident I can experiment and see what I like best. All that's left besides the final touches would be to potentially adjust colors, but other than that, I'm content with what I've made so far! (I might adjust the penguins' head... THEY JUST LOOK WEIRD THOUGH, ALRIGHT)


I've also decided to name the series KINSHIP. I've had the folder with them all in it named that for a while, but I figured I should share it !

 

During the critique, I got plenty of positive feedback!! (Mostly about how I should sell this stuff LOL... I might though... watch out for a webstore-)


While my piece is coming along swimmingly, as I finish I come closer to my biggest issue at the moment: presentation. Now, I initially was planning on having a wall composition where I presented them flat and next to each other, refer to my First Blog Post for my composition sketches. I'm still going to keep them at 10 x 10, because I like my pieces big to draw attention; however, I've gotten quite a few different suggestions for how I should present it.


My biggest issue with the original plan is that I was ALSO going to add multicolor frames to each of them (the secondary color + background pattern color would've been the color for each piece), but uh They're Expensive-

and also I wouldn't be able to do that for the senior art show anyways.


Another dilemma I'm having with this is that I, quite frankly, want to stand out. I have such a simple concept that simply having it up on the wall wouldn't feel like I'm making enough of an effect to be able to stand out among you guys!


So, I've gotten a few different ideas, none of which I'm really sold on entirely, but I don't hate either. A few of my alternative options so far are:

-Picture book

-Picture book, but mounted to the wall

- Blanket/quilt


My favorite idea is having a large picture book mounted on the wall so that people can turn the pages and view each of the illustrations. I think this would make it fun to interact with, and evoke a childlike enjoyment of turning pages in a big book. Some criticism I've received for this is that it wouldn't be strong enough since it wouldn't be telling a story, and while I understand that... I don't think it bothers me that much honestly? I was also thinking of adding velcro to the pages or maybe magnets to keep them upright so they won't fold over ''owo


Anyways! Aside from that, I am very happy with the progress I've made so far!! I'm so excited to see my piece finalized and hanging up in the gallery :D Even if I don't win anything for it, I think that it's still a cute and heartwarming series, and I can probably profit off of it, so like, who cares-


Just kidding! (mostly!) But, now it's time to share an artist!!


 

!Artist Highlight!

Toni Infante

A freelance illustrator who does STUNNING fantasy and fan art. I absolutely adore their use of color, dynamic poses, interesting lighting, and energetic compositions in their work!


There's obvious anime and videogame inspiration in their pieces, even the non-fan art ones. But they utilize these elements in an interesting manner, mainly through their character design and ridiculous + dramatic compositions and character designs. I LOVE the blend of hard and soft elements in their art that gives it an animated feeling, yet can add more seriousness to their pieces (especially the tiger one).


If you're looking for some ridiculous fan art from anime, comics, and video games, or just enjoy fantasy illustrations, you should definitely check them out!

68 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page